Us (Fava) is an association of independent professionals committed to spatial solutions and social empowerment. The Fava-association is founded in 2009 and managed by RVDB Urban Planning (Dr. Rob van der Bijl MSc Architecture and Urban Planning). Our name is derived from the famous fava bean, on the human menu for thousands of years. In etymologic sense the name ‘fava’ is historically close to the name ‘Favela’. And sure, it has been no coincidence that the foundation of was inspired by our experiences with the Favelas in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, that are named by our bean. uses biomimicry to mimic natural growth in urban planning.

Time line

December 2019 – 10th anniversary celebration.

June 2018 – Launch of the new, improved and enlarged website.

July 2016 – SAFE PLACES ( incorporated in

May 2015 – Renée van der Bijl (MSc Political Science) joined the office of She is preparing and executing surveys and contributes to content of the website.

April 2013 – Start of the multiple Rotterdam project (our high priority ever since)

October 2010 – ‘The City is Home’ released by

January 2010 – Preparation of the first cases and projects.

December 2009 – Foundation of by Pnina Avidar, Rob van der Bijl and Juliette van der Meijden.

Contributions to by

Pnina Avidar, Irène Bavencoff, Benikbram, Ymkje de Boer, Renée van der Bijl, Rob van der Bijl, Shelley Bontje, Laurent Chambon, Tsaiher Cheng, Danny Edwards, Marek Jancovic, Co van Griensven, Mohamed Hassan, Ron van den Heuvel, Tobias Hooftman, Jos Huber, Muhammad Wisal Khattak, Allard Kleinhuis, Bart Koenen, Lex Koetzier, Jaap Modder, Juliette van der Meijden, Laura Nino, Kazimierz Olszaniecki, Kees Pronk, Onno Rieven, Roel Schoemaker, María Sempere Valdecantos, Raffaele (Lello) Sforza, Francis Sikkens, Liesbeth Sluiter, Bart van Spreeuwel, Hugo van der Steenhoven, Arjen van Susteren, and many others.

Our activities in particular countries made possible by Laura Mendoza, Njord Pattiasina, Camila Pinzon, Paul Ravenstijn, Nico Tillie, Philip Verma, Pepijn Verpalen (Colombia); Helge Bay (Denmark); Andrea Alessandri, Raffaele (Lello) Sforza (Italy), Koichiro Aitani, Dave van Eijnsbergen, Andrew David Fassam, Marc Glaudemans, Taichi Goto, Martin van der Linden, John Mader, Kei Minohara, Emiko Szasz, Saline Verhoeven (Japan); Tom Potter (Norway); Bart Goldhoorn, Janine Hogendoorn, Johan Meijer, Anna Parkhomenko (Russia), Jaap Modder, Wendy Tan (Singapore), Jason Chang, Tsaiher Cheng, Ya-Wen Chen, Jody Chen, Casper Hsu, Charles Chin-rong Lin, Chou-Min Lin, Michel Sudarskis, (Taiwan), Thongchai Panswad (Thailand), Martin Glastra van Loon, Alan Moore (US).

SAFE PLACES / projects (1990-2016) were supported by Peter Bart, Betty van Bakel, Miranda Blomberg, Jelle de Boer, Rob Cornelissen, Sybille Denneman, Marc Dings, Jan van Dijk, Joop Doorman, Aart Eerland, Rieke Eerland, Waltraud Gerhardt, Arne Gielen, Paul Gruter, Nico Harkes, René Hesseling, Gertjan Hulster, Lex Koetzier, Harm-Jan Korthals Altes, Alexander Koutamanis, Tinus Kruger, Marc van Leusen, Susan Liebermann, Ita Luten, Fred Mutsaers, Hans Netten, Ralph Oei, Kazimierz Olszaniecki, Leen Prins, Kees Pronk, Petra Reijnhoudt, Jurgen Rosemann, René Scherpenisse, Paul van Soomeren, Liesbeth Sluiter, Egbert Stolk, Arjen van Susteren, Alexander Tzonis, Mieke van Veldhuizen, Peter Versteegh, Theo van der Voordt, Tobias Woldendorp, Chunlan Zhao, and Cora van Zwam.

The Dutch concept of ‘veilig wonen’ can literally be translated as ‘safe living’. Finally, ‘Safe Places’ was chosen as the English name. This translation is based on research by the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) in South Africa. In the late 90s, we worked together here with Susan Liebermann and Tinus Kruger on crime prevention. The concept ‘safe places’ is derived from their manual (with Karina Landman) ‘Designing Safer Places’ (CSIR, Pretoria, South Africa, 2001). Beware, the term ‘safe places’ should not be confused with the fashionable phenomenon of ‘safe spaces’ that is common in many of today’s American universities.